Matthew 11

In the beginning of Matthew 11, John the Baptizer sends messengers to Jesus to ask him if he is the Messiah or is the Messiah still to come.  This is really odd to me since John had previously baptized Jesus and “…suddenly the heavens were opened to him and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and alighting on him. And a voice from heaven said, “This is my Son, the Beloved, with whom I am well pleased.”  (NRSV)  Why would he now be questioning as to if Jesus was the Christ?

Jesus then starts rebuking the cities where he had been performing miracles because they had not repented.  I have always thought it would be great to have lived during Jesus time on earth.  I have thought how easily it would have been to have lived right upon seeing all the miracles of the Messiah.  Yet it seems that there were many that seemed to be unaffected even with their observation of the miracles.  I am now content to live during this time and to “see” the miracles through the inspired record.

Jesus ends the chapter with a prayer and the promise of rest for those who choose to follow him.  A very comforting passage.  (Matthew 11:28-30) “Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”  (NRSV)

Have a great day,
Doug.

Published in: on January 10, 2007 at 11:40 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dougp243.wordpress.com/2007/01/10/matthew-11/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Doug – great thoughts on Matt. 11. I have also thought (erroneously) that it would have been so “easy” to believe if I saw the miracles. But I’m viewing through eyes of faith now IN JESUS. If I’d been raised in such a legalistic faith, unfortunately I’m sure I’d be just as harsh against him. Still, there would be something amazing about him. Something that just might be… something that show compelling evidence, yet the blinders of my eyes prevent faith. Father, forgive my weak faith. Help me to believe having NOT seen, and be blessed further by the life that is in your Son.


Leave a Reply

