Matthew 18

Matthew 18, it’s true, Jesus (and God) loves the little children, all the children of the world.  Jesus tells his disciples that unless we become as little children we will not enter the kingdom of heaven.  Jesus says that (Matthew 18:4) whoever becomes humble like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. (NRSV)  What does this mean to be humble like a child?  I think that Adam Clarks Commentary has a great explanation, “And become as little children]  i.e. Be as truly without worldly ambition, and the lust of power, as little children are, who act among themselves as if all were equal.  The following saying from the Boostan of the poet Saady is very appropriate. “The hearts of infants being free from avarice, what care they for a handful of silver more than for a handful of dust?”

The middle of the chapter tells us how to approach a brother who sins.  This has to be one of the hardest things to do as a Christian.  How can I approach anyone about anything with the sin that is in my life?

This last half of the chapter if practiced would create unknown world peace and unity.  It basically states that you will be judged in a manner that you pass judgment.  This should change the way you deal with everyone that you come into contact with.  I will only enter heaven with God’s grace and forgiveness.  Therefore, I need to make sure that grace and forgiveness is the manner in which I deal with others.

Have a great day,
Doug.    
 

Published in: on January 18, 2007 at 1:40 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dougp243.wordpress.com/2007/01/18/matthew-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dooog –
    Great thoughts on becoming as children. I was looking at Amberlee yesterday and as she was loving on her Mama at lunch, I couldn’t help but think about the innocence, the single-mindedness, the purity of that little child. I know growing up is a natural course, and unfortunately losing the trust and purity is part of our human condition. But as Jesus said, unless we become like it… we will not see the Kingdom. Good stuff.

  2. Thanks Drew, There are so many lessons that our children teach us. God is so awesome to have granted us the opportunity to grow closer to him through them.
    Doug.

  3. Thanks, Doug. Good to hear from you and see you on here. I’d stay away from Drew though if I were you. I hear he’s a big barbershop nerd.

    You didn’t hear it from me, though…

  4. Wait a minute… you can’t believe what a Guyer tells you, Doug, you know that. 🙂

    Ok, ok, so maybe it is true. Like Derek can talk – Mr. Bronze Medal College quartet guy over there…

  5. Is this a classic case of the pot calling the kettle black?

    I was sitting with a group in the GEC that included Derek when Michigan Jake took gold!!! It was an awesome night. And to think, I know people who know the Michigan Jake bass. Not that this has done me any good. The only CD I have gotten out of it is a copy of a BSU album. Speaking of which Drew, I am ready to trade BSU for something different. Got to keep expanding my exposure.


Leave a Reply

