Matthew 20

Matthew 20, Jesus starts out the chapter talking about deathbed conversions.  Someone who becomes a Christian shortly before their death can have the same reward as someone who has been a Christian all their life.  Isn’t that awesome!

The middle of the chapter two of the apostles, through their mother, ask Jesus for special positions in the Kingdom of
Heaven.  My first thought at this jockeying for position in heaven is shock.  How can these disciples who have seen the miracles and sat at the feet of the Teacher still not understand?  I don’t care if I am the last one in before they shut the door.  I wouldn’t care if I get into heaven as the lowest in seniority.  I want to be there.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to just squeak in, I am shooting for a cushion of confidence in knowing that the prize is mine.  (1 Corinthians 9:24) Do you not know that in a race the runners all compete, but only one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may win it.  (NRSV)

The chapter ends with Jesus healing a couple blind men.  How awesome is our Lord.  When he was here in the flesh, it seemed as though he couldn’t pass anyone without having compassion on them.  I am thankful that when I pass him one day he will have that same compassion on me.

Have a great day,
Doug.

Published in: on January 20, 2007 at 7:28 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dougp243.wordpress.com/2007/01/20/matthew-20/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

