Matthew 23

Matthew 23, Jesus calls out the scribes and Pharisees because they have been having the people to follow their more restrictive interpretation of the law, but the do not hold themselves to the same standards.  The chapter ends with Jesus yet again chastising the Jews for their unwillingness to accept him as the Messiah.  His compassion comes out in that he says that he wants to gather them together under his wings, but they are not willing.

 

(Matthew 23:24-26) You blind guides! You strain out a gnat but swallow a camel! “Woe to you, scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For you clean the outside of the cup and of the plate, but inside they are full of greed and self-indulgence. You blind Pharisee! First clean the inside of the cup, so that the outside also may become clean.  (NRSV)  This verse really means a great deal to me today.  This year it seems that God’s grace has been on my heart.  I have accepted that my keeping of the law will not save me, only God’s grace can do this.  Going down this path, to me, the intent of the heart is much more important than I have ever given consideration.  What are my motives for my actions?  Are they pure and Christ-like?  They should be.  Do I treat others the way I would want to be treated?  Do I judge people the way I am going to be judged one day?  Are the things I say caring?  (Matthew 12:34) You brood of vipers! How can you speak good things, when you are evil? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.  (NRSV)  If my heart is after Christ, it seems that everything else will fall into place.

Have a great day,
Doug.
 

Published in: on January 23, 2007 at 2:53 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dougp243.wordpress.com/2007/01/23/matthew-23/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

