John 1

John 1, one of my favorite passages of the whole bible, John 1:1-4.  The Word (Jesus) was in the beginning with God.  Jesus was in the presence of the Father, yet chose to leave this and come to earth to be crucified for me.  It seems that sometimes the anticipation of something is worse than the event.  In this case the event was Jesus on the cross taking on my sins and being separated from God, for me.  This event couldn’t have been any worse.  Still, with anticipation from the beginning Jesus knew what was going to happen to him and still chose to come, for me.

This is a great verse for study and consideration.  John 1:33 I myself did not know him, but the one who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘He on whom you see the Spirit descend and remain is the one who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’ (NRSV)   

Have a great day,
Doug. 

Published in: on January 29, 2007 at 3:26 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dougp243.wordpress.com/2007/01/29/john-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

